Problem while connecing RTC to Nav server

Hi Guys,

I am new to this Navision, i downloaded trial version from website ‘Navision 2009 with SP1’.

I did the following:
Server: I have windows 2008 server (64 bit) with SQL server 2008 installed in it.
Installed database components first.
Installed Nav server

except these two (database components and Nav Server) no other components are installed on the server machine.

Client: Windows XP with SP3
Installed Client (Role Tailored Client).
While installing gave the Servername and port as 7046 (default port).

When I run the client from my xp machine, it asked for the server address and have like this “servername:7046/DynamicsNav” and clicked enter and i am getting this message and unable to proceed further.

“A server was not found at “net.tcp://servername:7046/DynamicsNav/Service”. Either the URL is incorrect or the server is currently not available.”

Am I missed anything in the process of server and client? BTW I have checked the services on the server and they are running fine.

Please help me in resolving this issue. Thanks in Advance.

Thanks and Regards
Janu

Hi Janu,

There is a file C:\Program Files\Microsoft Dynamics NAV\60\Service\CustomSettings.config (server) where you need sometimes to modify some parameters after the end of the insall, check it and don’t forget to restart the NAV server service in case you made changes on it.

Thanks,

Thank you very much Mohamed Ali Ben Amor for your reply.

I checked the customSettings.config file, all are with default values. I am suspecting the following tags are causing problem.

NetType = Default, (I dont know what the client uses)

DatabaseInstance = “”, (shall we have to give anything here)

The rest of the settings (default) are looking good for me. Could you please point out which settings have to change in that file?

Thanks and Regards

Janu