Advice on NAV Programming

Hello all,

I’m currently an employee of a startup micro company which does NAV Development and Implementation. Currently, the company has only 2 employees. Apart from my Boss who is an expert of NAV and the only developer of the company, who gets most things done, I’m the only person doing all possible best to keep up with the Programming of NAV. The only training available is reading NAV books.

Unfortunately, My Boss doesn’t show a nice face whenever I ask him any question about NAV programming or concepts that are not in any book (e.g Creating a Number Series for a New Table)

Because of this, I always have to depend on this forum for help since my other collegue has little experience of NAV programming. Honestly, sometimes this takes much of my time.

Currently, I have been give an HR project to develop and I’m having lots of challenges. What do I do? I’m new to NAV.

Thank you.

I would say - change company. You will not be able to learn fast yourself - so you just will waste a lot of time. This is bad for clients and your company. But most important it is bad for you - time is not renewable and most valuable resource. Use i wise.

Hello Valentin,

Thank you so much… This what I have been thinking of always. I have been with this company for 11 months and I don’t get anyone to talk to whenever I get stuck. Could you imagine I had to depend on this fourm just to be taught how to programme for a number series for a new table. I always Ihave to read already written codes. The problem I have most in programming NAV is, even though I understand most of the concepts and C/AL functions, there are times when I would like to ask someone the status quo of some codes but I there is no one and I can’t always ask my Boss, since he will see me to be “stupid”. Hence, there are somethings accept at surface value. And I just not happy.

I think I have to CONSIDER your advice!

Thank you [:)]