Newbie to NAV, where should I start?

Hi all, just browsing the web and found this forum, saw some very useful stuff on it so had to join. My question is, I am a complete newbie to NAV, I have only started learning how to use it in the past three weeks, any tips on where I could look, or what I could use to improve my knowledge of NAV role tailored client and sql? Please excuse my lack of terminology, as I said, newbie! Thanks in advance

Availability of resources depends on what your status is:

1. you’re a MS Partner company’s employee;
  2. you’re an End-user’s employee;
  3. neither of the above, but willing to acquire NAV skills.

NAV has no user manuals as such, has never had - partially because it’s impossible to write them for such a highly customizable system.

1. gives you the maximum opportunities - access to MS extranet PartnerSource containing tons of materials, courses etc etc, and mentorship from your senior colleagues.

2. as End-user, you have access to another MS extranet site, dedicated for NAV users - CustomerSource. It contains training materials and courses, whitepapers and How-Tos.

3. DEMO versions of NAV are available to everyone for downloading, and Dynamics NAV section on MSDN is publicly accessible, too. Many books are available, check Books page here in DUG.

Both 2) and 3) lets you obtain information needed to learn how to use NAV. If your target is to become a NAV developer, then 1) should be your choice. Nevertheless there is info available on MSDN about NAV development, an individual can not obtain “developer” license, therefore you can’t practice in development.