Analysis View

Hi,

I am studying a Navision 3.6 implementation for the Finance department of a company. They happened to mention to me an issue they were facing and I would like to know if any of you reading this post are aware or have faced it before.

They have certain requirements which makes a GL entry being associated with 4-5 dimensions. I believe it is a standard feature that the GL entry table does not allow more than 2 global dimensions being associated with an entry. As a work around they seem to have used some short cut dimension implemented through an Analysis View.

Now for some reason entries get posted into the Analysis View have one of the two global dimensions or both missing at times. This causes reconciliation issues between the Ananlysis View and the GL table.

The databse used is SQL Server 2005 Standard Edition.

Have you encountered this issue and is there some resolution that could be suggested?

Thanks,

Emil

Check whether for those G/L Accounts, the dimensions are setup with Value Posting as Code Mandatory. Any dimension that always required to be entered during transactions entry must be setup as value posting as Code Mandatory, otherwise users will be able to post transactions without entering dimension and hence on analysis entry there will be entries without dimension values.

I thought analysis views and dimension analysis like this was implemented in version 4.0 I would also check the object versions of the tables you are experiencing issues with.

And of course check any modification!

Run a test to check the source data, create a new analysis view for an account the customer said is reporting wrong, have the compression set as None, this will create a one-to-one entry, you should find that the all data is correct if you have an unmodifed system.