HOWTO: Create a customer in NAV 6.0 using VB2005

Hi all.

I’m new to developing with NAV and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction to get started.

So far I’ve installed NAV 6.0 (default installation options therefore native database I assume) and the SDK. Now I’m looking at setting up a test application in Visual Basic 2005 that connects to NAV, checks for the existence of a customer, creates a new customer and then disconnects.

There is so much documentation available that it’s a little overwhelming but I can’t find any example code that I can review. I don’t want to change any of the objects, screens or reports within NAV, just exchange data. Ultimately I’ll be sending across Customers, Suppliers, Sales Invoices, Purchase Invoices and Journals. I’ll also be storing their unique identifiers in my application so that I can look them back up in NAV again at some arbitrary point in the future.

Also, would there be any differences in code if NAV had been installed using SQL Server as a back-end database instead of a native database?

Hope you can help a beginner get started.

Thanks in advance for any replies,
Frantic_Orange.

You can do this using web services. You can create and publish Web Services in NAV and consume it in your VB application.

NAV Native database does not support web services as such. Though it is possible to achieve this with the help of NAS (Navision Application Server) and some external DLLs, you can consider upgrading to SQL to take full advantage of the integration capabilities of NAV 6.0.

Hi and thanks for the reply.