NF & SQL-based OCXs

We (end users) had a third-party programmer create an OCX for our Navision Financials (US 2.00) system. It works, but is unacceptably slow. The OCX (written in MS Visual C++) is called during billing for each order line item. The OCX looks up applicable US state - county - and city sales taxes via SQL calls to a MS SQL 7.00 server. Each lookup, from the user’s point of view, requires 20 to 25 seconds. (Without this OCX, each billing calculation within Navision is, as one would expect, almost instantaneous.) Testing of the SQL lookup routines outside Navision results in very fast look ups. I have no experience with Navision. I wonder if Navision – especially at the client machine – ever does any swapping of data or code to disk before giving control to an OCX? If so, is there any way of preventing this swapping? All network benchmark results are very good, so I don’t think that the problem is caused by network congestion. Here’s our environment: Navision server: Win NT 4.0, SP4. 2 x Pentium II, 450 MHz. 384 MB RAM, duplexed 18 GB 10,000 RPM ultrawide2 SCSCI drives. Navision database size: 1.1 GB TCP/IP protocol Client stations: Win 98. 128 MB RAM. 6 GB EIDE drive. Protocols: IPX and IP Clients: MS client for Netware (a Netware server provides user authentication and print services) and MS Client for Windows MS SQL server 7.0: Win NT 4.0, SP4. 2 x Pentium III, 550 MHz. 384 MB RAM 2 x 18 GB 10,000 RMP ultrawide II disks, Adaptec 3 channel hardware RAID 1 controller TCP/IP protocol Network protocols: Ethernet II frame type (only) IPX/SPX and TCP/IP Each station is on a 100 baseT switched port (Cabletron switch). All station and server network interface cards operate in 100 Mbps half-duplex mode. (My tests of full-duplex mode with Windows have been disappointing, so we force all network components to half-duplex.) I’m stumped. Can anyone with real world experience in making Navision work with OCXs suggest why our function might run so slowly? Thanks,