Importing Data

My apologies if this is wrong place to post. We are using Navision Financials 2.0, and need to figure out how to import data into the program. Specifically, from a web-based time entry program called Unanet. Unanet has a Navision format export template, but we’re not sure what to do with the resulting file, as I’m completely new to Navision. Thanks for any advice!

Hello scanlon, there are several posibilities how to get this data into Navision… I don’t know Unanet but as far as you describe the process it sounds like a plain file with the data that needs to be imported into Navision. 1) via dataport - this is an object in Navision that allows importing data - you indicate the table and the order of the fields within the table according to the order of the fields in the imported file. Within that dataport you can program certain validations and modifications to the data if needed. 2) via report/codeunit - you can program a report or codeunit to process this import but this requires more Navision specific knowledge and C/Side knowledge. Depending on your license you might be able to put the dataport together (if you have the designers license) but in any case it would be the easiest and fastest way to contact your NSC to program that additional funcionality. Saludos Nils

Nils, Thanks, that’s exactly the type of direction I needed! Patrick Scanlon

quote: