Cyrillic

I’m just a beginner and cannot solve one problem here. We do not have russian granule right now, but in some developed tables for maintenance module, we have additional columns for descriptions in russian/cyrillic(people of different nationalities will use the module). I have not succeeded in entering cyrillic text as data to these columns in Navision, even if input language is russian all I see is strange symbols. At he same time in other MS programs everything is ok. Does anyoane have any experience with such things?

It’s because Navision is non-unicode program. You can use only one language at the same time. But you can change it in (Windows 2000, XP) Regional and Language options, Advanced tab and choose Russian. The restart of windows will be required. After restart you will be able to write and read in Russian but no Estonian characters will be available. And after changing back to Estonian, Russian characters will not be readable.

Thanks, I guess it is all I needed to know.

Additional question: We have Navision database installed on the SQL server with collation of Estonian language (code page 1257). If we try to enter in Navision at Russian language we see “garbage” instead of Russian letters. From SQL Enterprise Manager we can alter the data in tables and write them in Russian, because SQL server 2000 can change collation for every column. But when we open that table with Navision, we see only “?” signs instead of Russian text. We know that Navision is non-unicode program. If we change in Regional Option language for non-unicode program from Estonian to Russian, we cannot open the datababase from SQL server. But if the database is local (non SQL) we can open it and enter Russian letters, of cause some Estonian letters is not visible, but this is not critical. How can we enable support for Russian and Estonian languages simultaneously on SQL version of Navision?