Carraige Return Character

Hi,

How can i remove the carraige return character from the text string?

I was a programmer 15 years ago, and my suggestion might not be applicable to Navision [;)] - but “Carriage Return” is char(13)…

As string length functions usually doesn’t include CR, you might trim string to its length, but it works only if CR is the LAST one in string, but not if somewhere in the middle…

…and remember that CHAR(10) which is LF often follows CR.

If you import into NAV and use TEXTMODE(TRUE) CR/LF is removed automatically; same when using a dataport. Using binary import you have to handle this yourself.

I have to export data from navision. The data includes description of item which has CR/LF characters. When ever the CR/LF characters are encountered, the line breaks. I wish, if there is any staright solution in Navision to resolve this.

Faisal,

Hmm… Data exported from Navision shouldn’t contain any CR/LFs…

If you say Descr field is the cause, it makes me think, that your system somebody has modified.

Standart Descr is text(50) now (was text(30) in earlier versions). In many situations it’s not enough, and if someone, not being aware of all serious consequences, simply extends the standart field to maximum 250 chars, instead of adding CUSTOM field for LongDescr purposes, many problems arise.

So, check first for mods there and how the CR/LFs happened to appear in Navision data.

Hi Modris

This is the standard text field where users are actually copying and pasting data from excel. I think this is how carraige return characters are getting in to the description field.

Any how i have written the follwing function to remove the characters from the end:

RemoveCarraigeReturnFromString(TextString : Text[50];VAR ProcessedString : Text[50])
StringLength:=STRLEN(TextString);
AlphabetString:=‘abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyzABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ ,/1234567890’;
FOR I := StringLength DOWNTO 1 DO BEGIN
SingleText := COPYSTR(TextString, I,1);