AX Revaluation

I’m currently working on a project to replace SAP with AX. I’m being told the FX reval has to be done at the transaction level which in many cases wil leave an open balance in the converted currency when the original entry is closed out. What I want is for the reval to compare at the GL account level to the original entry using the rate on the day the entry is closed. Is this possibly a setup issue or just the way it works?

Hi,

Can you explain with an example.

Regards

Thanks for your reply. I’m not an accouting expert but here’s how it was described to me.

On 3/1 we have 100 EUR which is equaly to 150 EUR

On 4/1 we have 100 EUR which is equal to 155 EUR so there is a gain of 5 EUR

On 5/1 we have 100 EUR which is equal to 140 EUR and the entry is closed.

If the reval is done at the transactional level when the account is closed it reflects a loss of 15 EUR (155-140). However the reality is that the account lost 10 EUR (150 from 3/1 opening balance minus 140 from the closing balance).

If the reval at the transaction level generates an entry for -15 an adjustment will need to be made as the net loss is really -10 when the account is closed.

What they want is for the reval to compare to the original entry at closing as that the real gain / loss. Apprently It doesn’t matter to them if interim revals are at the transaction level although I think it should be consistent whatever the solution is. Thx.

gain of as

If As it turns out the initial information provided was incorrect.