Alias in SELECT statement

I am very new to x++. Is it possible to use an alias in a select statement? I want to create a new record on a table based on an existing record, and I am trying to modify the insert statement. x++ doesnt seem to like “select x as y”

CRMTemplate_Headers TemplateHdrFrom;
CRMTemplate_Headers TemplateHdrTo;
CRMTemplate_Headers head;

str 20 nwTmpId;
int tmpltid;

;

select maxof(TemplateNumID) from head ;
tmpltid = head.TemplateNumID+1;
nwTmpId = strfmt(“CRM_Template_%1”,head.TemplateNumID+1);

ttsBegin;
insert_recordset TemplateHdrTo(TemplateID, Name, QuoteType, Active, StartDate, EndDate, TemplateNumID
select nwTmpId as TemplateID, Name, QuoteType, Active, StartDate, EndDate, tmpltid as TemplateNumID
from TemplateHdrFrom
where TemplateHdrFrom.TemplateID == templateId;
ttsCommit;

When I save I get "Table nwTmpId does not exist ", I have tried adding parenthesis etc and only get syntax errors.

Help would be greatly appreciated.

I suppose I could do this as a “while” select then .insert if anyone can help with the syntax (please?) [*-)]

try

select x y , z from table. that might work.

thanx for the response, could you be a little more specific, please?

I’m trying it a different way but now I get a ‘TemplateHdrFrom table does not exist’ error on the

maxid = select maxof(TemplateNumID) from TemplateHdrFrom).TemplateNumID; line_._

Im so confused…[+o(]

void copyTemplateHeadr(int templateId)
{

CRMTemplate_Headers TemplateHdrFrom;
CRMTemplate_Headers TemplateHdrTo;

int maxid;

;

maxid = (select maxof(TemplateNumID) from TemplateHdrFrom).TemplateNumID;

ttsBegin;

while select * from gravTemplateHdrFrom where gravTemplateHdrFrom.TemplateNumID == templateId
{
TemplateHdrTo.TemplateID = maxid+1
//insert statement here
}

ttsCommit;

}

The best think you can do is take a look at the select statement syntax specification. For example, the AX2012 version is here.