Relation form and tables

Is there a simple way to get an overview of al forms and their relation to the underlying tables. I want to find out which fields of which tables can be accesed by which form? I’m fairly new to Navison.

In short - NO. Read this: Navision architecture

However, in some cases Table and it’s corresponding “form” (actually “page” in latest versions) share the same name, but this is mostly true for master data as Items, Vendors, FA, and like.

Only if you have developer access to forms (pages), then you can check which table each form (page) is linked to, but ways doing it differ in different versions of Navision - you have not mentioned which one you use.

Thnx for the quick reply: for the sake of argument: what if I had such a developer access :), how can I check (in an easy way) the above mentioned relation. I We make use of Nav 2009 R2.

Many endusers have granule 7120 Form Designer included in their license, it was common way to buy additional Forms for customization. This allows to modify LAYOUT of Forms, but not the code in them.

Up to and including version 2009 the Classic Client was the development environment. If you have that granule 7120, you can open any form in Classic Client and hit Ctrl-F2, it will open in design mode. (If it does not, it means you do not have that granule).

Then, hit Shift-F4, and form properties window will open (there is a button for that in toolbar, too, but hard to explain which one here in writing).

Among many other there is SourceTable…

I hopefully consider you’ll do this is test environment, not production - although there is an option NOT to save changes when exiting the design mode (by simply closing the form), it’s very easy to mess the things up, especially, if one is not familiar with NAV development.