What is the best way to learn Dynamics NAV and C/SIDE (A general querry regarding navision)

Dear all,

I have around 5 years of programming experience in Visual basic, sql server, crystal report and .NET.

I want to learn C/SIDE. I am based in India.

I have gain functional knowledge Navision 4.0 SP1.

Now , I want to learn Technical also.

I am based in India.

One training institute is providing technical training in Navision, Its a 10 days course

I want to know, as I have programming experience, Can I learn it myself by going through PDF’s

or should I go for this training course.

Which option will be better ?

Interesting!

None of the options is bad. You can choose to attend to one, or both!!

personally, i prefer studying the training materils

Definitely the key is you, and your way of learning. everyone reacts differently to different ways of learning, and one of the biggest failing of most eduction systems, is the ridiculous belief that everyone can learn the same way. So each person needs to find their optimum learning methond.

The first biggest mistake you have already made though is assuming there are two ways to learn, there are many ways to learn NAV, not two. So be creative and check what other options are out there. For me the best learning method is teaching and doing. If you teach someone to do somethign, then you learn yourself how to do it very well. But doing is even better, I set my self a project and tackle it start to end.

When I first started in Navision, my job was to train users to use the system, so I got all the manuals and read them cover to cover. then I started using th esystem to do the jobs that they would do in their normal day, then I sat down and taught them. this was all done in Test Company (before the Cronus days) and I learnt what posted where, because during training the users would ask me.