Using 3.70 Server.exe on 3.10 data

Hi guys and girls, I’ll try to keep this We’re a 3.10 site with 70 users currently running C-SIDE at 61GB out of 65B license. We have a 128GB license however have been told that it only works with the 3.70 server.exe. Have been “assured” by our NSC that it’s safe to start running the 3.70 exe over the 3.10 data but that there’s no going back once it’s been done We can of course revert to backups if it fails but we don’t want to get 2 or 3 days into it only to find there’s a glitch. Heaven forbid Navision having unforeseen glitches [:(!] Has anyone had experience with doing this ? Good or bad ? Alex

I have some experiences with it and I also heard a lot of others with these kind of experiences. All of them are positive. Of course best use the 3.70B exe. No need to take 370 without service packs. No need to take a backup, just stop the service and copy the files to another place. In case you want to revert back, just copy the copied files back. It is a lot faster than restoring a DB.

I have never heard that a newer license does not run with an older Database. I.e. I would give the new license a try. Anyway you should create a copy of the datbase first.

I would suggest rather that you move to 4.00 SP1. If you are upto date on maintinence, then just get your NSC to send you a new license. Being on the latest executables makes it a lot easier if you have a roblem, and there are some nice new things in the newer versions that make it worth while. In anycase, moving to 3.10 to 3.70B is fine, just remember to make sure your hardware is upto date. I think its W2K min. definitely win 98 will not work.

Just a small side remark, we have several 3.70B clients running on Win98 machines, works ok, but of course at least Win2K is recommendable. Anyway, as David suggests, if you upgrade technically, then rather switch at once to the latest version… Saludos Nils