Use of temporary tables to speed up search of ever increasing number of records

The problem I am having is with a codeunit that is used to create the Purchase Orders from the Sales Lines. It is called from the Sales Header. There is a Vendor No. for each line and could be many Vendor No.s, hence many Purchase Orders. The sort by Vendor No. is critical.

As the number of sales order lines increases, the time to create the POs is getting much too long. For 26 lines, it took 5.5 minutes where when not so many lines were in the sales lines table several months ago it would take about 3 seconds.
As time goes by, this problem will get worse. I am wondering how to speed things up and thought perhaps that if I use a setrange to get ALL the lines in the curent order (fast) and put them into a temporary table and then sort that by Vendor No. etc.
Is this possible or should I have a new table and work from that, or can you suggest any other way to speed up the process?

This is my first attempt but I am getting “no lines found” so presumably the code is rubbish.

WITH SalesHeader DO BEGIN
TESTFIELD(“Document Type”,“Document Type”::Order);

SalesLine.LOCKTABLE;
IF NOT RECORDLEVELLOCKING THEN
LOCKTABLE(TRUE,TRUE); // Only version check
/// new code
SalesLine.setrange(“document no.”,“No.”);
if salesline.find(’-’) then
REPEAT
TempSalesLine.COPY(SalesLine); ///***is this correct??
TempSalesLine2.COPY(SalesLine);
UNTIL SalesLine.NEXT = 0;

TempSalesLine.SETCURRENTKEY(“Vendor No.”); ///***is this possible in a Temporary table?
TempSalesLine.SETRANGE(“Document Type”,“Document Type”);
TempSalesLine.SETRANGE(“Document No.”,“No.”);
TempSalesLine.SETRANGE(“Drop Shipment”,TRUE);
TempSalesLine.SETRANGE(“Purch. Order Line No.”,0);
TempSalesLine.SETRANGE(Type,TempSalesLine.Type::Item);
TempSalesLine.SETFILTER(“Outstanding Quantity”,’<>0’);
TempSalesLine.SETFILTER(“No.”,’<>%1’,’’);
TempSalesLine.SETFILTER(“Vendor No.”, ‘<>%1’, ‘’);

IF NOT TempSalesLine.FIND(’-’) THEN