Understanding Sales Post Codeunit

Hello,

I am a beginner in NAV. I am currently having a trouble understanding the Sales Post Codeunit. The Processes it follows and the way it works, is some what vague for me.

If someone can give me a way to understand the processes and mechanism underneath, then it would be very helpful.

Hi

That is rather a vague question, in a very large area. Essentially my understanding is the codeunit does all the appropriate shipping and invoicing of the sales orders, populating all appropriate tables, serial/lot, value entry, invoicing, dimensions, etc etc, based upon the statuses of each line and where the call to action is made from - sales order, inventory pick etc. It simply moves the stock, creates all the associated entries and moves onto the next stage.

I would recommend if you have particular questions on that codeunit (one of the more complex ones I understand) then you post them in the developers forum - in case you have not guessed, I am obviously not one from the above description [:D]

Hi,

Thank you for enlightening me a bit. I accept my question was vague. My actual problem was difficulty in understanding the flowchart that the Sales Post follows. Example - The Res. Jnl. - PostLine Codeunit follows like this -

Set the Dimensions, With Resource Journal Line, it generates next entry, checks the entries by a call to checkLine, then locks Resource Register, updates it, then it populates Resource Ledger Entries (Checks them where necessary), then inserts the entry, lastly copies Journal Line Dim values to the Ledger entry.

This is a quite simple process. As a beginner, I didn’t find difficulty following the codes to generate a flowchart out of it. A flowchart obviously helps in creation of the codes with very less pain because the process is already given, just the implementation is needed.