SHELL and Path File

Hi everybody. I Need some help. I’m not a real coder: I mean, I just know a bit of C/AL. The problem seems to be really silly but I still can’t solve it. Shortly: every teacher(vendor) must bring his training aid for every class, no matter the file extension. I had then to link a File Path to the Item card; I’ve created a new field (Text) an I let the user browse and select the file. I do this trough the OCX Common Dialog.This is the Code I’ve used: [i]OCcommonDialog.InitDir(PathToFind); OCcommonDialog.Filter(’.’); OCcommonDialog.ShowOpen; NomeFile := OCcommonDialog.FileName; which returns the File Name. So The DB field contains a value like \servername\Project\ClassRoom\MaterialStuff.pdf Well: the system must let the user open this file whenever he want… but I don’t know how to use the SHELL o HIPERLINK command properly. If I simply pass the field value I get an Error message like your operating system cannot open the program “\servername\Project\ClassRoom\MaterialStuff.pdf” Please Ensure that the program is installed and can be run… Does anyone know how to work it out? Thanks in advance. Fab.

I forgot: the problem is to open the file no matter the kind of file chosen, without mapping every file extension to launch a different .exe . I mean: is there a way to avoid coding like CASE TypeFile OF… and pass a different program + file ‘c:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11\WINWORD’+’‘stuff.dot’) ‘c:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11\WINPROJ’+’ ‘c:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11\EXCEL’+’ Thanks!