SETCURRENTKEY/FIND newbie question

Hello forum! I’m a Navision developer newbie, so bear with me. :slight_smile: Our Sales Cr.Memo Line table has 5 keys defined. The first key is “Document No.”,“Line No.” and the last is “Sell-to Customer No.”,“Shortcut Dimension 1 Code”,“Shortcut Dimension 2 Code”. I have the global variable recCrMemo defined for a report with a datatype of Record and subtype of Sales Cr.Memo Line. In code I’m doing the following (for proof of concept): recCrMemo.SETCURRENTKEY(“Sell-to Customer No.”,“Shortcut Dimension 1 Code”,“Shortcut Dimension 2 Code”); recCrMemo.“Sell-to Customer No.” := ‘1’; recCrMemo.“Shortcut Dimension 1 Code” := ‘SPORTS’; recCrMemo.“Shortcut Dimension 2 Code” := ‘01FBPPRF’; recCrMemo.FIND; Instead of finding the first record containing those values, the report throws an error. It is appending the first key fields to the end of the current key fields, and since I’m not populating those fields it can’t find the relevant record. Am I completely missing something here? Any input would be helpful. Thanks in advance! --rbentley

There are two important aspects here: 1) The primary key fields (the first key defined for the table) are always appended to the other keys’ fields in order to make the sorting order unambiguous. You already mentioned this. 2) Calling FIND without parameters searches for a record that matches the values stored in the current key’s fields. This includes the primary key fields. It throws an error if it doesn’t find a match. The behaviour you are observing is therefore entirely correct and in accordance with Navision’s rules, although it might not be what you expected [;)] If you want to search for a record that meets the specified criteria, you should instead use SETRANGE or SETFILTER on the relevant fields and then call FIND(’-’) or FIND(’+’). This will give you the first or last record to meet the filter criteria.

Hi!

quote:

call FIND(‘-’) or FIND(‘+’).