Open integration with other applications

I am looking into the Navision product line for an account of mine. They currently operate their back office operation on proprietary software on an RS6000. They have a frontend ERP/e-commerce application that is SQL Server based and runs on Windows 2000. At this time, we are looking at different applications to replace their backend software. Does this product provide a flexible ODBC application to provide integration to another machine running a SQL Server e-commerce on Windows 2000? Is Navision structured in a workable format or is it complicated and difficlut to work with in this area? Thank you for any assistance. I would rather hear about the realities before talking to a sales representative. Thank you.

I’ve been using and developing with Navision for just over 3 years and have been a software developer for 25 years. Navision is easy to use and customize. In fact that is quite an understatement. As an accounting package it is the best I’ve ever worked with for ease of use and customization. I have found that is why it has such a large user population world wide. As for web interface - Navision makes it very easy to export data with little effort via ODBC and a tool called dataports. Navision also allows you to import data with very little effort via dataports. However, I’m not clear on putting data into Navision in real-time on the web. Also, you would have to do some level of development to get data into Navision in ways other than through their client software or via dataports. The good news is Navision and their partners have many tools to accomplish this. Our company is looking at web interfaces for users to enter data to Navision so, I’ll leave it to others to address that part of your question. As for the rest, Navision makes it pretty simple. Yours in Software, /m