Looking at making the switch to NAV, want your success and horror stories, please!!

Good day everyone!!

I work for a distribution company on the East Coast of the US. We are looking at the possibility of moving to Dynamics NAV from Epicor Vantage. Our experience with Epicor has been horrific in each and every aspect. The sales presentation to Dynamics has looked very promising, but let’s face it, that’s what the sales presentation is suppose to be. What we would like is to hear about REAL WORLD experiences from companies that have already made this switch. What was your experience like? What sort of road blocks or road bumps did you experience? How has the on-going support of the product been? Most importantly, if you had to do it all over again, would you? No story too scary or too cheery. The more detailed the information the better. No detail is too insignificant.

We appreciate everyone’s input.

Thanks!!!

ATV

Systems Engineer

I’m a developer not a consultant or project manager, so keep that in my mind. Your implementation depends on two main things:

1. The strength and competency of your NAV partner…do they really know NAV or are they just a couple of people that got certifications
  2. The strength and competency of your key stakeholders…are they willing to put in the work or just along for the ride

Every implementation has ups and downs, misunderstandings, but if you start to miss deadlines in your project plan, start to notice things costing way more, or that are not as they were told to you, then examine which of the two sides is responsible.

If you’re truly interested in NAV, interview multiple partners, find the one that you work best with. Get references from each of them. You’re hiring someone to learn and support your business as it grows, so the process should be just as if you were looking for an employee.

Every businesses experience will be different for so so many reasons, as are the hurdles, bumps and successes.