job queue entries

I am having a bit of a fight with the job queue entries/log-stuff/processes and so on

first of all: is it ok that I have to start the job-entrie-get-going with code-unit 448 (Job Queue Dispatcher)? it does not wat to start working otherwise

second, what do I need to fill in in the attempts boxes? I want the scheduler to run everlasting, till the end of times, and so on, not just xx times

That were my problems for now, till I get more to work and am faced with more problems that are not solved by the search-function or google [;)]
a link to the answers would be great too!

thanks in advance

I’m not an expert but it is probably better to use NAS to start the jobscheduler. You can start it manually by using the following code in a report: AppMan.NASHandler(‘JOBQUEUE’); where AppMan is codeunit 1 (I used a report type integer with number = 1)

To run indefinitely set Expiration date as blank on recurrence tab set as recuuring job and tick the days you want it to run. I advise putting in an ending time as it seems to get it a twist towards the end of the night. No of minutes should be blank if to run it once in that day. You can ignore the attempts boxes unless you have problems with errors in running the report

Thanks for your advice, it turnes out to be a more basic problem:
we make a back-up of the data we export on each run, and for that back-up navision needed to overwrite an existing file. permission was asked, but never given we expect the queue to run on its own. We changed the procedure, now the back-up file is deleted and a new back-up file is created so nobody needs to click on ‘yes’ every 5 minutes

I do have another question:
does the queue work after the user-session in which the queue is running has been terminated? Is this possible?

If you terminate the session that starts the queue, then the queue-process is inactivated.

That is why Richard is absolutely correct that it most often is best to have a NAS run the queue.