How to programmatically associate a dimension with an output journal in C/AL

How do I programmatically associate a dimension with an output journal in C/AL ?

The Dimension is called OPERATOR and I want to associate this with an output journal record in a code unit.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Dave K

Hi ,

Output journal is basically an Item Journal Line . You can modify the trigger for insert or at the moment of population , depending on your process.

Do you know C/AL ?

G.

Is this dimension attached to any of the master ?

Is user selecting this dimension in Sales order?

when you are inserting the output journal insert them with validate command in the fields assignment and use insert(true) option in the code… dimensions are automatically created if they are assigned to your masters…

Anil.

Thanks, I am new to C/AL.

We have some software written in C#.net which uses the NAV API.
I have exposed Output Journal page along with some other pages and a code unit.

The software populates the output journal and then calls our code unit with the order number as a parameter to post the journals with the same order number.

Now, I want to associate our OPERATOR dimensions with each output journal line before posting it.

It is better or even possible to associate the dimension to the output journal in the software using exposed pages/code units ?
or should I pass the dimension value as a parameter to a function in our code unit and create the dimension value and associate it to the output journal line from within NAV using codeunit 408 - (and How do I do this please - can’t find any documentation for this) ?

Is there a best way to do this?

Hi ,

I would amend the triggers in the table , but it should be also ok to expose a Page function if - its callable. Depends on your process and scenario really.

g.

Hi,

in your code unit… you can use the below syntax.