How to assign Enterprise or Functional Licenses to users

Hello experts,

I’m actually new to AX 2012, so please allow me to ask basic questions.

I have been researching how to apply Enterprise or Functional User Licenses to each user, but I cannot find a window that allows me to assign named user licenses to each user. In User window (System Admin > Common > Users) it is possible to assign Roles (such as Sales Manager or Sales Clerk) to each user. I understand the Roles are associated with the license types, but the question rose-- how can AX 2012 recognize a license type for each user?

For example, Sales Manager Role requires Enterprise User License. Is it possible to assign Functional User License and Sales Manager Role for the user?

The TechNet seems not having an article for my question. Would anyone give me a guide?

Thank you for your help!

Individual items in application, such as menu items, have the type of required license associate with them. If you have access to code, you can look at menu items in AOT and check ViewUserLicense and MaintainUserLicense properties. User needs the CAL that covers requirements from everything what he is allowed to use. For example, if user has access to even a single item requiring Enterprise license, he needs Enterprise CAL. If you remove such item (by changing the role, for example), Functional CAL will suffice.

You might be interested in the blog post I wrote about AX2012 licensing. It’s quite old, so some things are not valid anymore, but it describes the basics and contains some useful links.

Thanks for your advise, Martin.