FORM.RUN, FORM.RUNMODAL basics

Well,

two posts at the same time, as you can see I’m quite new in NAV…

I’ve created a function on a form, it only creates a new record, set a few data and then show the form (type Card) with the record I’ve just inserted. The code is like this:

reg.INIT; reg.Name := ‘test’; reg.INSERT; FORM.RUN(50001, reg);

…this inserts so good the new record but doesn’t show me the form with it. I’ve tried too with:

form50001.setrecord(reg); form50001.run;

…but same thing. I can’t understanding, I do the same (upper line) in other form and works right.

¿? [:|]

Try a RUNMODAL instead of a RUN.

The negative is that you need to do a COMMIT before the RUNMODAL. (try without a COMMIT and you will see why [;)] )

You’re right, it works with COMMIT and RUNMODAL. But I can’t understand why having the same code and same variables on a pair of forms, it works different. For example…

RUNMODAL → I got one form (form1) and with a command open another (form2), the normal way would be that I couldn’t access the form1 while form2 is open. I got the same code in two forms and one doesn’t allow me to select the background form (form1) but the other allows me !!

RUN → same example below (form1, push command → form2). Close form1 and sometimes automatically close form2 too but not another

Anybody is happened the same?[:|]

It was the way your programmed it.

INSERT and then FORM.RUN runs the form and then continues with the command after the FORM.RUN and the transaction started by INSERT (or before it) is still active. So it is quite unsure what happens.

With INSERT and then COMMIT and then FORM.RUNMODAL. You commit the transaction, then you open the form. And only when you have closed the form, Navision continues with the code after the FORM.RUNMODAL.

Good, but the first way you tell me (INSERT and then FORM.RUN) should show the form, but not always do. I got in a command exactly the next code…

WITH recordA DO BEGIN
INIT;
codForm := codFormLaunch;