AX 2012 - Data Migration

Hi,

I am a beginner of using AX 2012. I would require to perform the data migration such as product master, COA, customer, vendor master & etc.

In previous AX version (AX 2009), I used to use the excel import/ export function which is under Administration module. However, i could found this feature in AX 2012.

Does AX 2012 still come with this excel import/ export function? May i know where is it and what are the steps?

Any other better way to handle data migration?

Hi,

Please see the thread here on DAX 2012 data migration - http://dynamicsuser.net/forums/p/47754/264994.aspx#264994

Hi Harish,

I’ve tried the excel add in. It works for the simple master data import. But item master involves more than 10 tables. Is there a simplify way to do item master data migration?

Thanks,

Alice

No there is no simple way, the shared table and database structure have complicated everything. The Excel add-in is an end-user interface but is not recommended for data migration, as a partner you need to create a migration strategy, this could be in-house scripts and templates, it could be a tool like Atlas or To-Increase Data Migration Studio, but you cannot assume it will be simple and there is no longer a viable tool out of the box in AX2012.

Hi Alice,

As Steve said one alternative is to try writing scripts for the import or use 3rd party tools.

Please note the import tool I uploaded is in Alpha version. Beta version of this tool from MS is long due but it is not clear when it will be released.

Thanks to confirm that excel add- in is an end user interface.

Thanks for the inputs like developer need to write the scripts to import the data in AX .

Hello

Lee looks like he may have got a solution for his initial question, but I have another (related) one…