AX 2012 - BOM Calculation

Hi,

I am a beginner of using AX 2012. I understand that the BOM calculation will calculate & roll up all the cost from raw material (RM) up to the parent lot.

There are 2 scenarios i would like to ask:

1. Say the RM is a purchased item, if the price change from 1.00 to 2.00, will the system auto calculate and roll up and thus show the new cost for the parent lot?

2. Say the RM is a manufactured item and its inventory model is Std Cost, if the price change from 1.00 to 2.00, will the system auto calculate and roll up and thus show the new cost for the parent lot?

Or

Is there a batch update BOM calculation function?

1. Yes depending upon your costing method, dimesion configuration and processing (inventory close)

2. You have to run through the standard cost updates of ALL items. If you choose not to roll it up then it is not part of the parent standard cost until rolled.

Hi Adam,

May I know what kind of costing method will roll up the RM cost to parent lot?

Thanks,

Alice

Anything except standard, which uses standard and waits for teh next single level calculation to be processed into the costing version.

If you have a component part at a different cost on an ended production order where consumed and invoiced cost are different you have not run the inventory close which pushes all known costs through the system.

Hello Adam, I have one related question here. If I use FIFO for both RM and finished good, then I would assume that the cost for the finished good is rolled up based on the BoM calculation group automatically, cost group set up for RW and the cost category defined for the route/overhead.

1. In such case, would I need to define a costing version for the finished good? As I understand this would apply only to ‘Std cost model’. I would use planned cost type for simulation possible I presume.

2. Without the costing version, how could I defined the labor overhead?