Add a new user to a Business Central VM Container Install

Hi All,

I am new to Business Central, and have installed a BC Container on a VM, It has created an admin user for me in Business Central but I would now like to create additional users, however when i go to the users window and click on New it says ‘You cannot add or delete users on this page. Administrators can manage users in the Office 365 admin centre’

I do not have Office 365 admin centre on this VM machine so wanted to know if there was a way to creates users without Office 365?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

S

Hi S,

If you need to make new users in a BC sandbox running on a local machine, then you need to use the New-NavContainerNavUser Powershell CmdLet from navcontainerhelper.

Hi Erik,

i did use the New-NavContainerNavUser Powershell CmdLet from navcontainerhelper, (see attached file, on the file I entered the container name, tenant name and user name in the parameters section. however when I run this in Powershell I get the following message.

Export-ModuleMember : Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
At line:52 char:1

• Export-ModuleMember -Function New-NavContainerNavUser
  • CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:slight_smile: [Export-ModuleMember], NullReferenceException
  • FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.NullReferenceException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.ExportModuleMemberCommand

I cannot see where I have gone wrong so any help on this would be appreciated.

Regards

S6708.New_Navcontainernavuser.txt (2.86 KB)

Hi Erik,

I forgot to say, can you please confirm in which directory in Powershell, I should be running this code.

Regards

S

You should not be running that code directly. It’s part of a module and should be installed and used like that.

Install the NavContainerHelper cmdlets from Powershell with: install-module navcontainerhelper -force