WIP

Hi All,

I want to manage amout of WIP after every Work center, how can I do it? May you talk about Chart of account and the meaning of it?

How many type of account which is support in AX and the meaning of each? When and How I use which type’s account? I don’t know anything about accounting, so it’s difficult when become consultant ERP. My major is Industrial Engineering and I want to know about Production function in AX, but AX is refer to Accounting so much. So I hope who can help me know about Production in AX and a little about Accounting.

Thanks in advance

In the parameters you define the WIP by Work Centre. WIP is then posted to the charf of accounts as every financial transaction is. You need to structure the chart of accounts WIP to reflect your requirements, which is by work centre, then map this across.

Read a book about accounting, before askign these questions, NEVER let a system drive your knowledge, there is little point in letting AX drive you, understand accounts, then you can apply what AX does to them.

Any ERP system refers to accounting, it has to it is how you know if a business is profitable or not.

Speak to an accountant, they can tell you teh basics, otherwise get a copy of a manufacturing COA and try to understand why the business has structured it in that manner. In many AX implemntations the COA will be resdesigned, partly because of teh system requirements, but also to enable better financial reporting - it is the best time to do this.

Hi Adam,

First, thanks for your answer to me. I will learn about Accounting more. I have a question that refer to Wip and Vendor. When I setup the subcontract, Must I manage the Wip of a component which is made by the other company?