unknown field unit of measure in item BOM component

Dear All,
I am studying about item BOM now and confusing about the item BOM especially production lead time field unit of measure. I don’t know how to explain it to a client if they ask the unit of measure, when I type 2d, the error message said “you can’t type 2d in integer, …”
Could you tell me the effects if I have to made some modification by change the datatype on its table (BOM component table), I don’t know if the field links to other table and I need not only change in the table but also another tables. I expected your answer so much.

Rgds,

MrGM

In which field are trying to enter 2d? Not in Production Lead Time. That is a DateFormula not an Integer.
Or did somebody change the field type? … that would answer your second question about the effects of changing a standard field data type - nothing will ever work any more! [:)]

Never under any circumstances change the data type of a standard field … NEVER.

Actually the Production Lead Time field in the BOM Component table is an integer. And I second the sentiments about NEVER, EVER changing the data type of a standard field. If you don’t like the meaning of a field, you create a field yourself and use that instead of the standard field. That way you have control over what happens with it, instead of having to fix all the problems that are caused by the modification.

Field no. 18 in table no. 99000772? [:^)]

Table 99000772 is the Production BOM Line table, we are talking about the BOM Component table (table 90), and field number 13.

Oh! [:$]

The field made me wonder. It’s realy confusing, the field is disgusting too.

Based on online help :

Production Lead Time Field
The BOM Component Table

Here you can enter the time it takes to procure the particular bill of materials component.
In connection with machines, it can be the time it takes to produce one unit of the component