Topology in Installation and Configuration of AX 2009

Hello Sir,

I am new to implementing AX -2009, I have to instal axapta at client place who are having 8 users with different role.

My question is what will be the topology used. If have to give each of them a certain right

In my understanding I ll install full AX component in their Server computer.

and install on the users computer only client, AOS and application fiel and connect to the same sql database in their server and control the user profile from the server.

1st is this the correct way of doing it?.

2nd I should also have one test environment. how should I configure that

3rd I have to give them training also. should I configure seprate AX for that.

Please help me in this regards, will be greatfull to you

Rajesh Sharma

Hi Rajesh,

Please get some experienced technical consultant help you out.

Regarding installation, this guide should help you out - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=4B681C44-D944-4B3F-B846-1E2A025569FD&displaylang=en

Regards,

Hello Rajesh,

Harish linked you the document where you can find any information about the installation of AX2009.

I’ll briefly answer you questions:

1. No it’s not the way. User computer only needs the client. And Server only needs the components used. ATLEAST: AOS, Application, DB. (DB could be on another server aswell, for production this is a best practice).

2. Test environment is just another AOS Instance (with a own database and application. You can run multiple aos instances on 1 server.

3. This depends on what type of training you’ll be giving, but you can give training in the TEST environment.

Feel free to contact me anytime.

Hi Patrick

thanks for the reply.

1. I ll install only the client on user machine and connect AOS, Application and DB installed on the other system. is this the way you meant ?