SSRS Report with special aggregate field problem

Hi,

I am quite new in AX and SSRS report…

and I’m trying to make a SSRS report that with dataset which is an AOT Query as “ProdRouteJournal innerJoin inventDim”. And there is an range ProcessDate as an input of the report.

And I’d like the report to look like this

where Material is from InventDim.Material, and MaterialCat is from a method of InventDim to decide its category from its Material.

My question is that I’d like to calculate the red values in the above report which are

1. Sum(Qty) of each MaterialCat, e.g. A: 30

2. Total Qty of the selected date,

3. Total Qty of the month of the selected date.

I was wondering if there is any good way to do the above 1/2/3 ? (in this situation that I can not add a MaterialCat field into inventDim).

Many thanks.

VincentC

What’s your problem? That you can’t filter or group by your display method? That’s correct - you need to use something that can be referred to from SQL. I don’t know the content of your method, so I can’t offer any specific solution, but you may be able to simply use a joined table instead of the display method. In more complex cases, you can create a view with a computed column.

Hi Martin,

thanks, let me try to clear my problem.

the dataset of the report (of my current solution) is bringing from the AOT-build Query with specific date (processDate), so now I only have data (rows) of a specific date, but I need to a value of Sum(Qty of day1 of the month to processDate) <–Problem1

and the MaterialCat display method is very simple, it just check the Material field (as string, material could be combined with “A”, “B”, “C” and “D” with “|” as separator, e.g. " A | B" or “B | D” or “A | B | D”.)

if the Material contains “A”, then it is Cat “A”,
else if it contains “B”, then it is Cat “B”
else if it contains “C”, then it is Cat “C”
else it is Cat “D”

and Problem 2 is that I need to calculate the Sum(Qty of each MaterialCat). ← Problem 2