Simple X++ query WHERE clause

Hi,

I am an X++ beginning programmer. Can somebody please help me to get my query to run with either of the 2 where clauses(separately of course)? I want to run the query once to find records with positive amounts and then I want to run it again to find a separate result set of transactions with dates after 1/1/2014.

static void GroupByVendTransWhere(Args _args)

{

VendTrans vendTrans;

;

while select sum(AmountMST) from vendTrans
group by AccountNum
// where sum(AmountMST) > 0
// where TransDate > 01\01\2014

print vendTrans.AccountNum, " ",vendTrans.AmountMST;

pause;
}

HI ,

Please try the below code.

static void GroupByVendTransWhere(Args _args)

{

VendTrans vendTrans;

transdate _date;

;

_date = mkdate(01,01,2014);

select sum(AmountMST) , AccountNum from vendTrans group by AccountNum

where vendTrans.AmountMST > 0

&& vendTrans. TransDate > _date ;

print vendTrans.AccountNum, " ",vendTrans.AmountMST;

pause;
}

If you want to filter by the result of an aggregate function (such as sum()), you have to use HAVING. It’s supported by the Query Framework, not by queries directly in X++. See an example in Walkthrough: Creating an AOT Query that has Group By and Having Nodes.

The support for HAVING was introduced in AX 2012. Unfortunately you didn’t mention your version of AX…

Thank you Abdul for correcting my query. Why does my date criteria require a variable be created? I tried commenting out the _date variable and just using the date syntax in the && line of the code, but it wouldn’t run.

@ Martin…my AX is 2012 R1. Thanks!

I hope you’re aware of the difference between your original pseudo-code (where sum(AmountMST) > 0) and the current implementation (where AmountMST > 0). The former one would group all transactions and filter out groups with non-positive summary, while the latter is a sum of positive transactions only; negative transactions are completely ignored.