Server requirements for AX 2012 R2 for 40 Users

Hi All

We have purchased AX and are currently looking for the necessary servers.

We are a 40 user site (single site).

We are looking for recommendations for Server Specifications.

What server spec would you recommend for our AX SQL server?

What are your views on running AX SQL on a virtual machine? I know it can work well for the AOS/Role Center machines, but what about the main SQL machine?

What specification is your server, how many users, physical/virtual, what is your performance like?

Thanks,

CHRIS

Hi Chris

If you have purchased AX I would hope you did this in conjunction with a partner you have a working relationship with, and they should have already given you an indication of the requirements. There are many levels of the specification depending upon the end use of the system, but this should be known now, although this could change through the analysis phase. I am not technical myself but I could get a colleague involved from a partner (that I work for) if you like, but my recommendation is you talk to your current partner, it is a partnership after all and they should be the experts you are relying upon.

You can find the requirements here, but every site is different so a recommendation should come from your partner who knows what your intentions are: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=11094

Hi

We do have a partner involved, but I was looking for an unbiased opinion.

If anyone is able to offer some suggestions for spec it would be appreciated.

I have looked at the document in your link but as far as I can see, it doesn’t actually specify the recommended server spec for AX SQL server.

Thanks,

CHRIS

Hi Chris,

In the past Microsoft used to publish sizing guides which was quite handy ; but for some reason this was discontinued by MS.

I would suggest you to start with ‘Day in the life’ white papers for an idea about sizing and take it forward from there.