Second AOS installation not working properly on single server with AX 2009

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Dynamics AX and had encountered some issues while trying to set up our development environment. We currently have a complete AX 2009 SP1 installation on a Window Server 2008 machine with SQL Server 2005. The installation was completed successfully and the initialization checklist was performed without errors.

The problem raised when trying to install the second AOS instance on the same machine to be used as a staging environment (for testing purposes). We installed it as recomended by the installation guide with a new BD, new app file and new AOS, so far so good! but after setting the client on the same server to point to this AOS instance using the configuration utility and we noticed that we weren’t able to create new users (we can create users on the first AOS instance without problem). After searching for the cause of this behaviour we notice that the license in this second installation is set to the base package (we are using the same that for the first AOS that allow us to have at most 5 AOS instances). What configuration steps should be followed to get multiple instances working on a single server? How do the licenses work in this cases?

Is there any other issue that might be causing this problem?

Thanks in advance,

Dayanna

You have two separate license key files or one? If you installed a second database (BD?), second AOS, and second application folder, you should have no issue just starting it up I wouldn’t think. Are you pointing to the database for the first installation by mistake?

We have one license file that has a configuration key that allows up to 5 AOS.

Each AOS is pointing to the right database, we already check that but it seems that we are missing something else [:(]