New to AX

Hello,
I am new to MBS products, and I just started a new job which requires me to learn as much as possible about MS Dynamics AX 4.0.
Right now, all I have access to is the documentation that shipped with Axapta 3.0.

So my two questions are:
1.) Would it be worth my while to study the Axapta 3.0 documentation until the 4.0 release?
2.) Are there any suggestions on classes or training for 4.0?

Thanks!
G

Hi, and welcome aboard!

The basic structure of AX 4.0 is quite similar 3.0x. If you are in a hurry and have v.3 documentation read them untill you get newer materials.

It is very difficult to suggest training without knowing wether you work in an end user company or a partner which is implementing AX systems.

br,

Hiya and welcome to the wonderful world of Dynamics AX :slight_smile: I’m assuming you’re a developer, to which I’d say “What K.K said”.

Just an added note for development - if you can, get a copy of Steen Andreasen’s Axapta e-book (MorphX-It). It’s a good introduction to the development environment in Axapta.

My apologies for the delay, I thought I had already replied to this but I must have been mistaken.

I am working for the end user company in the IT department.
Right now we have a MS Partner doing the system implementation for one of our companies to be followed by our corporate headquarters.

My official title is Developer, but mostly I am supposed to learn the software inside and out (as well as our business processes).
The end goal would be for me to be able to make changes to the system as needed, support to the users, and design reports.
The company is growing fast and we predict a lot of possible changes in the future.

So with that said, could you suggest training?

Thanks also for the info regarding the 3.0 documentation.
I have been reading over every scrap I can find!

Thanks!
G

Thanks for the note!
I ran accross Steen Andreasen’s book while searching for AX books, and that one is on my list.