Navison Database "clones"

Has anyone ever seen a commercially developed database that works like the Navision database? In other words, is there a product (like Delphi or FoxPro) that has a things like flow fields? I know that there are several, like those mentioned above, that you can do development, forms design, etc, but the flow fields really set the Navi database apart from anything else. I can’t think of anything in the USA like this, but I’m wondering about anything that might be available overseas. Thanks!

To the best of my knowledge, Flowfields are unique to Navision. In addition, I believe the way the native Navision database handles commit/rollback through “versioning” (discarding the updated version rather than actually rolling back a backup copy) is also unique to Navision. Both of these capabilities contribute significantly to Navision’s performance capabilties. At the risk of inviting adverse comment, in my many, many years as a developer, I have not seen a database any more robust and resistent to corruption than Navision’s. Navision’s database is also the easiest database to administer that I have seen. Personally, I think it is a fantastic product. Other people have better IDE’s but not a better database (accepting the limitation that it is not general purpose). Dave Studebaker das@libertyforever.com Liberty Grove Software A Navision Services Partner

SIFT (Sum Index Flow Technology) is patented by Navision. So you won’t find flow-fields anywhere else, except Navision would have sold that technology. And as far as i know that never happened.

FlowFields and SIFT are two separate things. FlowFields are basically Calculated or Computed fields as provided in other databases. SIFT is a performance feature only; FlowFields can exist without SIFT.