Navision Developer for end-user company

I am a certified Navision Solution Developer, who resigned from a small and struggling NSC in the northeast US back in the fall of 2000. (That was not a good time to resign, but I had to do what I had to do.) Periodically, headhunters find my resume with its keyword “Navision” all over the place— and sometimes they call me. The headhunters are always looking for developers to work on end-user companies’ staffs, as opposed to NSCs or Navision itself. Right now TWO headhunters are calling me, which is good. But what I am wondering is this: how much development can you actually do with the developer’s license available to an end-user company (which does not let you modifying posting routines, amongst other limitations) and how do you work around the fact that (theoretically) you can’t get training directly from Navision and you can’t get support directly from Navision’s product support team? I know the last two items are SUPPOSED to be handled by the client’s NSC, but how well does this work in practice, especially when the developer is taking work away from the NSC’s own developers?

Hi Tim, You’re are asking a valid question. But many have asked it before: Take a look here for example http://www.mbsonline.org/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4766 But let me repeat what I wrote here:

quote:

The developer license is divided into three steps: 1) Designer Level (Report/DataPort/Forms/Table Designers) 2) Application Builder 3) Solution Developer If you buy the Application Builder then you must have all three designers. And when you buy the Solution Developer, then you need the Application Builder. To do EVERYTHING in the system, then you need the Solution Developer, but if you can live with the fact that you cannot change the Protected tables and codeunits, then Application Builder is enough for you.