Microsoft Office XP

I don’t know if that’s an over hyped product but it seems that the office suite has been massively enhanced. The build-in collaborative tools seems very impressive. Has anyone started experimenting with the new features of the Automation Controller for this newly released office suite ? tarek_demiati@ureach.com

I havent seen XP yet, but the issues of version levels in automation controllers comes to mind, if you think of v2.6x and lower. 3.0 shouldnt have a problem. Craig Bradney Technical Manager Navision Solutions & Services, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Email:cbradney@deloitte.com.au

I have no experience with XP yet but two things let me keep my fingers away from XP at the moment: 1) In order to protect Outlook from VBS viruses like ILoveYou which produce bulk-emails, the contact folder can only be accessed from within Outlook or after the user confirms use of this address. This feature would prevent a third-party application like a Virus as well as Navision to automatically generate and send e-mails. A drawback for users who need that. 2) I don’t like the new licensing policy for XP: As the registration code is being composed of some hardware-components such as processor number, network card etc. you would have to call Microsoft support and ask for a new license-number whenever one of these components change. Not very user-friendly if you ask me. ------- With best regards from Switzerland Marcus Fabian

This is cool : Check how the guys at Great Plains have already incorporated the smart tag technology (part of Microsoft XP) into their application : http://greatplains.webex.com/webex/playback.php?FileName=http://www.greatplains.com/documents/downloads/Office_SmartTag_Solomon_061501.WRF tarek_demiati@ureach.com

As far as what I can see then this solution doesn’t do much more than what we can do in Attain with the shortcuts attached to an email. Best regards, Erik P. Ernst, webmaster Navision Online User Group