Max. Report as Finished Exploding a BOM of line Type Item

Hello,

Background: design engineer with a new role. I have no background with ERP systems. I did read the AX BOM documentation on BOMs, some of the trade and logistics.

We have a part that was manufactured in-house but is now a purchased part. This part is a subassembly included on other BOMs as PHANTOM line types.

I changed the Phantom Line type to a ITEM Line type but there are complaints that the “Max Report as Finished” does not show this part. They are setting the explosion to “Always” and filtering for quantities <0 so the top level BOM would not be shown.

Should the “Max Report as Finished” explode a BOM that is a Line Type Item?

How should we handle going from a manufactured part to a purchased part?

The Max Report as Finished will show a BOM type item set as ITEM type.

Can you create a new BOM and then remove the item convereted and add it in again as new and then see if you can see it?

Any modifications in this area?

What version are you on?

Version: AX 2009 Version 5.0

Modifications: I am not sure what you are talking about. Can you change the behavior of this form?

I set up a CAR example in AX but I am unable to attach screen shots. I made some tables to show what is being reported.

I have a BOM for a CAR. It has 4 lines:

Part

Qty

Item Type

Line Type

Warehouse

CAR Wheels

Item

Item

Raw Material

CAR Axle

Item

Item

Raw Material

CAR Body

Item

Item

Raw Material

CAR Literature

Service

Item

Raw Material

I have a BOM for a CAR Kit that has 2 lines:

Part

Qty

Item Type

Line Type

Warehouse

CAR

BOM

Item

Finished Good

CAR Wheel

Item

Item

Raw Material

I am starting with 10 cars in the finished goods warehouse – and only enough raw materials to build 5 more cars.