Labour cost in AX

Hi,

I am pretty new to AX. I am more like an analyst. I might need help with the following:

1. I would like to enter labour cost in AX and add it to the end product. How do we do it?

2. I want to create automatic PO in ax when the inventory level goes below a certain quantity. How to set alerts for that ? How to create automatic PO ?

Thanks.

Moving to User forum. You have created it in the developer forum, please post in the related forum in future.

Quite large topics so lets start simple

With regards to 1.

• Do they use the production modules?
  • What is the costing method?
  • Do they use routes to reflect the path of the produced item?
  • Are overheads added to the costing sheet?

With regards to 2.

• Is Master Planning in use?
  • Is there any understanding of item coverage?

Basically these are two very large topics that could be answered a number of ways. Point 2 is just a piece of string that can keep being pulled, the short answer is - Associate the item with the appropriate coverage group and create the item coverage record for the inventory level at the dimension group controlled level required (i.e. site, warehouse) and then run planning to get it to create a planned purchase order based upon the item settings, planned usage and demand pattern" but all of that could be complete gibberish to you.

Hi Adam, Thanks for the response.

With regards to 1.

• Do they use the production modules? Yes they do.
  • What is the costing method? As of now, ONLY ingredients and end products have costs. There is no cost for labour or overhead or any other costs.
  • Do they use routes to reflect the path of the produced item? Yes
  • Are overheads added to the costing sheet? Not as of now.

With regards to 2.

• Is Master Planning in use? In a very basic level.
  • Is there any understanding of item coverage? We haven’t started implementing it yet but there is understanding of Item coverage. Yes.