How to setup user event logging for Process Mining purposes?

Hi all,

First, it’s good to say that I’m not really a Dynamics user. In fact, I have no knowledge of Dynamics at all.

I’m currently writing my bachelor’s thesis of Business IT & Management. The subject of my thesis is Process Mining. (For those who don’t know Process Mining yet, see en.wikipedia.org/…/Process_mining. It’s a data-analysis technique which creates process workflows based on event-log data).

Process Mining uses user event-log data to create these workflows, to determine process performance, deviations from the default path and segregation of duties. It uses at least three mandatory rows properties which need to be identified from the event log, within the Process Mining software. These mandatory properties are Case ID, Timestamp and Activity name along with the optional property Resource name/ID.

The company where I’m writing my thesis for, uses Dynamics NAV 2009. I’ve asked for user event logs for the business processes purchase and sales, but they say they haven’t got that data available.

They gave me a list of Change Log settings, which shows only a few fields are being logged.

Does any of you know how to setup logging so that all user events are being logged for business process Purchase and Sales? Or is there a simple checkbox which enables user activity logging?

Thanks in advance, if you need more information, please ask!

Kind Regards, Nick

Nick

There is nothing within the application for this. I was once asked about user event log data some 5 years ago on version 4. Came up with a proposed developed solution but it never went any further.

Yes Dynamics Nav has a change log for any table changes and source codes to identify types of transactions / processes. But these are all based around posted transactions so this ignores unposted / the creation process. For a view of posted processes have a look at the registers in Nav (found under History).