How to replace settings in "recognition method" and "job usage posting" in 5.0?

Hi

I have a customer that have upgraded to 5.0 and have problem with how to set the new settings in 5.0 so that they mathes the settings in the old verson.

ie “recognition method” and “job usage posting” are no more in 5.0.

what settings in 5.0 can we use instead?

Thanks for answers

Go to Jobs → WIP Method → and select the most appropriate value.

There is a lof of additional functionality here that you can find out about by downloading the 5.0 Jobs whitepaper. You can find that in the download section here.

I’m not an expert on Jobs, but my impression is that setting the WIP Method to “Sales Value” would be most similar to the earlier setting. When using Sales Value:

Sales Value calculates WIP as the contract value of the price of job usage. Using this method means
that the revenue and profit (or loss) of the job will be recognized when the job usage is posted and
recognized.
The WIP Sales Amount is always posted to a liability (unearned revenue) account. If the WIP Amount is
positive, the WIP amount will be registered to an asset account as accrued revenue.
The WIP is calculated using the following formula:

• WIP Amount for Sales Value Method =
Usage (Total Price) * Contract (Total Price) ÷ Schedule (Total Price) - Contract (Invoiced)

• WIP Sales Amount =
– Contract (Invoiced Price), if WIP Amount is negative
– Contract (Invoiced Price) + WIP Amount, if WIP Amount is positive

• Recognized Sales Amount = Contract (Invoiced Price) + WIP Amount
• Accrued Sales Amount = WIP Amount, if WIP amount is positive
• WIP Cost Amount = Usage (Total Cost)
• Recognized Costs = Usage (Total Cost)

Thanks for your answer!

I have read the white paper and it didn’t help me.

Maybe I need to explain a bit more…

I have to examples of combinations of these two settings - and I wonder if somebody know which setting I should use to get the same result in 5.0?

First one: