How to make a temporary table, which fetches the data from two existing tables?

Hello,

I am working with two tables in NAV 2009 R2, ‘Sales Invoice Header’, and ‘Sales Invoice Line’. Now I want to make a temporary table which merges the data from both of these tables. I am doing so because I need to make a report which needs all the values from both the table under same header.

Can you please guide me, how can I make such table.

Thank You.

Elisha, you are asking the wrong question. You need to start with the business requirement, i.e. the report. What do you need and why can’t you do it the way every other Navision developer would do it? Why do you need to do it this way?

Well David, I was not in this project while developing these forms. Now I have been hired to make the reports… and I didn’t find the better solution.

I am new in NAV.

While making reports I am able to link both the tables, but while generating the reports, I had to fetch the data in different section (like sales line in sales line portion and vice versa).

If possible I would like to know if I can generate a report in which i can fetch all the data from two or more tables under same Header.

Hi Elisha, you don’t need to create a temp table to create the report you need. Take a look at existing reports like Sales Invoice, etc and see how Sales Invoice Header and Sales Invoice Line are linked up in DataItem by checking out the properties. You may be able to save a lot of time by modifying an existing report as opposed to creating one by scratch. You’ll also notice when researching existing reports, that very few (if any?) of them use temp tables to combine multiple tables. Good luck!

Hi Elisha,

The RTC version of NAV is still new enough that most of us old-timers automatically presume that you’re working in the Classic version of the client. But, it’s now very much worth asking. Which version of the client are you developing this report for - RTC or Classic?

Hello Gerorge,