hi guys,im new to ax..

i have the two grids,AccntNum field in one grid and dept no ,address in another grid…,when i entered customer acno in AccntNum filed the releated customer address will be automatically displayed in the address field of second grid could you plz tell me how to do this

Just give the join source property of the parent table to the child datasource.

thanx 4 ur rply lalit!!

i mean to say if i entered AccountNum as 1101 in the first grid then the related (1101) customer address will be appear in the second grid of address field. i think only by aplying join property the lookup will be appear,but i just want whose ever i entered the AccountNum that customer address will automatically displayed how to do that in which method i can write the code…plz give the rply

It depends on your form design. Can you please elaborate on the form design(expected), the tables you are trying to use in the form?

Please Try to provide a meaningful title to the Post, so that it cannot be ignored

I have the two tables as cust and dept with fieldsAccountNum(cust),Address,deptNum(dept)
2)drag and drop the two tables in the form as datasources (cust,dept)
3)Drag and drop the AccountNum field directly in the Design node then
4)Take the two grids
one grid for AccountNum
second grid for Address and deptNum
if i can enter the AccountNum(1101) in the Label then the related customer(1101) Address will be displayed automatically

simply if i entered AccountNum then the fields Address in the grids will be triggered,plz rply

Hi,

For your requirement, you should have accountnum field in dept table and add relation for accountnum field in dept table with cust table. Set accountnum field - Allowedit property “No” in custtable table. Provide join source property for dept datasource in form datasource. Write following code in cust table insert method

CustTable custTable;

;

custTable = CustTable::find(this.accountnum);