Help with Microsoft Navision 5.0 System Architecture

Hi,

Please excuse my ignorance of this application! Our company has the worst project manager you could ever imagine!!

Im a SQL DBA and I have been given this software to urgently install for our finance department in the middle east with no time for planning and any form of preparation. We have 10 users who will be usinf this application. We have been given no documentation and our vendor speaks very little english and we have had problems getting information out of them. The only way I have managed to get this app installed is through the help of reading through this forum.

Our plan is to Install Microsoft Dynamics NAV on a Windows 2K Citrix 4.5 server linking through to a SQL 2005 cluster. So far I have managed to install the V5 app on the citrix server and publish the finsql.exe (build 24199). On the SQL server I have copied over the xp_ndo.dll (dated 28th Feb 2007) and setup the two extended stored procedures. When I attepted to log in to the database via windows authentication I had a error regarding Trace Flag 4616 which from what I understand, loosens the security of the server when this is enabled. Connecting via sql authentication gets around this. Can windows authentication be used without opening up this trace flag?

The database is currently empty and just has a few tables which the app has created. I have been told that im going to be reciving some data in the next couple of days to import into the database. Is this a straightforward process? Can I just use the SQL management console to import or do I need to do use any special application to do this?

All we have is a grey screen and I can see im successfully connected to the database where I can create a new company but im assuming that once I receive the data to import, this will give the app something to work with.