Form Lookup is not working in AX 7

Hi,

I have created a form and used a String control there which is bound to a Data Field of a datasource table. I wish to populate the lookup with Names of all the Forms present in UtilElements table.

This is what I did:-

1. Overridden the lookup method of the particular datafield (FormName in this case) of the associated form’s DataSource.
  2. From there I called a function and wrote the below code there:-

But the problem is no data is being populated in that lookup. Its coming blank.

8117.lookup.png

I will like to mention here that this same piece of code works perfectly in AX 2012. Like the below image. Why its not working in AX 7? Is there a major change in AX 7 related to lookup? How to fix this issue and make my lookup work in AX 7?

4744.lookup_2012.jpg

I am new to AX 7 (I guess everyone here is…) But still if you manage to know the solution, plz share.

Thanks.

You’re unable to locate the problem because you’re dealing with too many things at once.

First of all, check whether the query returns anything. If it doesn’t, your problem isn’t related to lookup at all - we can safely ignore everything related to lookups and the debugging won’t require dealing with them.

Or the query is fine and you have a problem with the lookup. Then it doesn’t matter what kind of query you use.

So far it seems to be the former case. Please do your debugging to be sure.

I think that your debugging will show that UtilElements doesn’t contain any data. Unfortunately I don’t know yet how it’s populated in AX7.

Thanks Martin, you are spot on. The UtilElements Table is indeed blank. There is no data.

So there is no question of displaying anything in the lookup. I should have found this out myself rather than posting it in this forum beforehand.