Fixed Reorder Points vs. Lot-for-Lot

I am a project manager for my company, and I am trying to determine what is the best reordering policy we should be using. We are trying to reduce company-wide inventory by 25M. In my experience - using lot-for-lot has kept a higher inventory level on hand. For those that used safety stock I have found that the system is constantly trying to fulfill you back to this level and ignores the fact your current supply covers demand and there are future receipts. In these cases where my supply is never going negative I find it to be a waste of time reviewing these message on the planning worksheet. I have found end-users using higher order multiples or minimum order quanitities just to avoid messages coming up each day (I understand this is poor practice). Recently, I’m trying to familiarize myself with the fixed re-order. I like the fact that the re-order point is still used as a ‘bench-mark’ to re-order material. I also like how it uses existing supply and will NOT create a planning message unless your existing supply either 1) falls below the reorder point 2) goes negative. However, for those that have used fixed-reorder - how have you set up your planning parameters. Is this a better philosophy than using a lot-for-lot ordering method? Will fixed-reorder quantity help turn inventory compared to a lot-for-lot with safety stock? Currently, end-users within my company calculate safety stock by (vendor lead times x average daily usage). Any one have a preference or experience within using these two policies?

Hi, kristen, I printed this the other day but did not get back to it until today.