Editing data from a form trigger

Hello everybody! First I have to apologize for my english, but I’m just a german student :wink: So, please be patient with me… I have the following problem with Navision Financials v2.50 (german): I try to edit a value of a record from the OnNextRecord-Trigger of a form. It’s a table with only one record in it with only two fields: ID: Integer, Update: Text. I would like to change the value of the field ‘Update’ with from ‘Yes’ to ‘No’ with the following commands: OnNextRecord-Trigger VariableForTable.GET(1); // Record has ID = 1 VariableForTable.Update := ‘No’; VariableFotTable.MODIFY; When I try to do so I get an error everytime: “You can’t make changes to the database from this point of the code.” So, why do I get this error and how am I able to change a value of a record from a form? I would be very happy about any comment! Thanks in advance, Ole

Hi Olel If you look at the help for the triggers, they clearly specify that, through some of the Triggers you cannot make any changes(modify) to the Database, and the trigger you have written the code is one among them. You can check the help and see which trigger would meet your requirement. MK

I guess the questions is what are you trying to do? I am sure you could use another trigger . Cristi

Hi,

quote:

If you look at the help for the triggers, they clearly specify that, through some of the Triggers you cannot make any changes(modify) to the Database

It should be my fault, but if I look at the help I can see nearly nothing. Might be because of the version I use, but the help isn’t very helpful at all.

quote:

I guess the questions is what are you trying to do? I am sure you could use another trigger .