Do you work on a Consultant basis too?

I am a developer in Southern California. I work on a consultant basis (would like to be an employee) for an NSC that wants to change our agreement. They now want me to sign a contract saying that I will not contact any NSC that they have a relationship with (they are expanding the term Customer from our original agreement to include NSC’s) for additional work when they do not have work for me. This will be in effect for three years after signing. I am new to consulting rather than being an employee. Does this sound fair to any of you? It seems like it would put me out of business if the NSC work dried up. What do you do? How do you get work? Is there enough work out there for developers?

Hi, I had such agreement. My advice is you should not sign it. If you are a new person for Navision you can sign such contract because NSC will provide you with knowlege you can use all your life. If you are experienced Navision Consultant NSC needs you much more than you need NSC. You will provide NSC with knowlege and information they need. You will own money for NSC. You are an asset for a company not an expense. They should feel lucky that they have you.

If you are doing work for the NSC, it is reasonable for them to want to limit your access to their customers when you are not working for them. But to limit your ability to work for any other NSC does not seem reasonable. If I felt I had any choice, I would not accept such an agreement. And if I were considering accepting the agreement, I would consult an attorney experienced in “non-compete” agreements first.