Dataport Import

Hello, I’m new to Navision and I’m having problem importing data via Dataport. I have an external Excel File in .csv format containing data for G/L Account Table. The field in the Excel file mapped to the “name” field in G/L Account table is 40 bytes long while in G/L Account table is 30 bytes long. I tried but with no success. First question How Can I import this field using the dataport? Second Question How can I skip those fields from the Excel file that do not have to be imported into G/C Account Table? Cheers Giovanni Michielin

quote:

Hello, I’m new to Navision and I’m having problem importing data via Dataport. I have an external Excel File in .csv format containing data for G/L Account Table. The field in the Excel file mapped to the “name” field in G/L Account table is 40 bytes long while in G/L Account table is 30 bytes long. I tried but with no success. First question How Can I import this field using the dataport?

Create a global variable, tx40 (well, maybe you can think of a better name), use that in the Dataport Field list to name your 40 bytes long description. In the OnAfterImportRecord trigger for “G/L Account” dataitem write: "G/L Account".Name := COPYSTR(tx40, 1, 30); That will transfer the first 30 characters of tx40 into the G/L Account Name and drop the exceeding 10.

quote:

Second Question How can I skip those fields from the Excel file that do not have to be imported into G/C Account Table?
Originally posted by henrymiller - 2005 Oct 18 : 15:23:51

Again create global variables for each field you don’t want to import (making sure they are of the right type for the fields that they will be associated to) and use them in the Dataport Field list in place of the unwanted fields, then just ignore them. Since their names aren’t in the receiving table they will not go anywhere if they aren’t explicitly assigned to some fields in the table. Anna